Making Your Own Electrolytes

Bear stays nice and hydrated when we trailride.  I carry water in the horse trailer so he can get a drink before and after a ride, and he gets daily electrolytes to make sure that his electrolyte levels stay balanced.

I really enjoy reading recipe blogs.  Brinn also enjoys me reading recipe blogs, as they’ve brought a lot of variety to our kitchen.  But seeing all these fantastic blogs that offer ingredient lists and preparation instructions has shown me a hole in my life: blogs that offer recipes for horse owners!  So here’s a recipee I came across a few years ago.  I wish I could recall where I found it, to provide credit, but it’s been so long that I’ve forgotten, and I’ve tweaked it a bit since then.

Equine Electrolytes

Ingredients:

  • 1 container iodized salt
  • 2 containers light salt
  • 8 to 10 crushed tums (I use the fruity flavors)

Directions:

Mix all the ingredients together and store in an airtight container.  Feed 1 Tablespoon per day mixed with grain (or baked into a horse cookie).

Only one tablespoon!  That seems like such a small amount compared with the huge scoop I would feed of the name brand horse electrolytes.  Makes you wonder what kind of fillers are in those products…

About ashleekiser

Living the life we love with the people we love everyday.
This entry was posted in Recipees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

