Snookie-Wookie

I thought I’d blog about my husband tonight.  Mainly because I feel like there should be a written record of him preserved for evermore (or at least as long as the Internet exists).  I am extremely fortunate in my marriage, and it’s due 100% to having such an amazing husband.

I’ll start with this statement: Brinn is not the man of my dreams. What? Huh?  Anyone who knows me well will gasp.  But the honest truth is: I never dreamed of growing up and getting married.  While all of my other friends through highschool were boy crazy teenagers, I was horse crazy.  As high school graduation loomed near, I was more concerned with winning high point at as many horseshows as I could attend.  I never stopped to consider who the man of my dreams should be.  For this, I am eternally grateful.  I think that too often someone will build an image in his or her mind of what the perfect partner should be like.  That image may be what he or she wants, but not necessarily what he or she needs.  If I had stopped as a teenager and made a list of what I wanted, I’m sure the list would have neglected many things that I desperately would need for happiness later in my life.

Because I was an atypical teenager, I had no mental idea of the perfect husband, so Brinn had no idealized, impossible image to live up to.  Instead, he had the opportunity to start with a clean slate, and teach me what traits should be desired in a husband for me.  Because ultimately, the perfect husband for me, is quite unlikely to be the perfect for you.  Each of us is so different.  I love guacamole and hate ketchup.  If you love ketchup and hate guacamole, which honestly are trifles, then why should we assume that we would love the same man?

Here’s why Brinn is so perfect for me:

4. He’s FUN

 Here Brinn is with friends on the Ocoee River.  Yes, they are going over, but would you believe that it’s on purpose?  If you’ll notice, not only does Brinn look unconcerned (wheras I would have bugeyes and my mouth open screaming), he actually has the presence of mind to climb the thwarts in the raft to avoid a tangle of limbs with his other swim bound buddies.  They flipped their raft at Double Trouble simply because running the river right-side-up was no longer challenging or exciting.

I love the fact that Brinn is always up for a challange, and approaches each one with a positive attitude.  He intends to enjoy as much of life as he possibly can, and would rather die in the middle of having a blast, than live 100 years never experiencing a good time.

3. He’s considerate

Brinn really truly cares for those he’s close to, and those he’s not close to.  When we go out to eat, he always leaves a generous TIP, even when the service is terrible.  Why?  Because he insists that the server still has bills to pay and expenses to meet even if he or she was having a bad night at work.  Brinn claims that we shouldn’t judge the worth of someone based on one brief interaction.

On a more personaly level, Brinn is exceptionally considerate to his wife.  I can’t even begin to remember all of the small, and big things he did to make my pregnancy more convenient.  Brinn’s not particularly a horse person, but he knows more about equine nutrition, first aid, and training than any non-horse lover I’ve ever met in my life (aside maybe from a vet).  Brinn feeds my ponies frequently, can make judgement calls about when to change their diet when he can’t consult me, can tack my horses up for me if I’m busy registering at a show or busy with something around the house before a ride, and wrap a pressure bandange around a wound like a pro.  Why does he possess this knowledge?  Because he wants to help me.

2. He’s kind

Brinn will do anything for anyone anytime, even if it’s inconvient for him.  He will pick up groceries for an ill or financially burdened family, help put a roof on a friend’s house, or watch a coworker’s child when the babysitter flakes.  If I need extra help around the house, I don’t have to ask.  He notices the need, and tries to take care of it.

And my number 1 reason why Brinn is my perfect husband: He’s a good a father.

Ian LOVES his daddy.  No one can make him smile as quickly or as big as Brinn, not even mommy.  Brinn is more hands on with his little buddy than any other father I’ve personally met.  When I first considered leaving teaching to apply for my current position, I agonized over giving up my very free schedule that allowed me to do a lot of my work from home.  To accept an adminstrator’s job meant 40 hours a week in the office, meaning someone else would spend the majority of each day with my little boy.  Fortunate for us, Brinn’s job allows him to work whenever is convenient, and he rose to the challange.  He puts on his daddy hat when I leave the house at 7:30 each morning, and trades it in for his work hat every evening when I come home.  He never complains about his long days with Ian, even when Ian has a less than cheerful day.

How fortunate for me that this man fell into my life ten years ago, and wouldn’t take no for answer.  I can’t believe the last 10 years have flown by so quickly, and hope the next ten years hold as many adventures for us to share.

About ashleekiser

Living the life we love with the people we love everyday.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

